Friday, June 24, 2011

Friends Let Friends Swim In Their Pools :)

Today was another one of those days where you think you have it all figured out and then you realize that you miscalculated something. I’ve done this a lot in the past and it gets on my nerves every time because I think I’ve learned my lesson. And each time that it happens again… Grrf!

I’ve always been the odd one out. I’m the one that doesn’t really like to play the party games like twister or catch phrase. I’m the one that doesn’t like some certain show. I’m the one that doesn’t like Harry Potter very much… I’m the one that does like Ellen Hopkins… I just don’t fit in.

I’m also always the one without a boyfriend—now, I don’t mind not having a boyfriend. I’m fine the way I am and when the right guy comes along, I’ll consider him if his offer is convincing ;) anyways… in my group of friends, there are an odd number of people. And somehow, I end up being that odd one out that end sup being the third or fifth or seventh wheel…

It first happened in ninth grade four years ago. I was with two of my girlfriends and they invited their boyfriends over to the house we were staying at. The guys wanted to get in the hot tub and the self-conscious person that I am didn’t want to put a bathing suit on and get wet. So the four of them got in the hot tub—mind you, it was like, ten at night. They cuddled and chatted and I sat on the edge, just observing. It was pretty lame… for me.

Over the last four years, there were situations of the same context but I got over them pretty quickly after learning the pattern. So today, I had planned to visit the same friend’s house and go swimming and I invited another girlfriend. Without thinking about it, I invited another friend who happened to be one of their boyfriends and I didn’t even think about what I was doing…

So both of them had their boyfriends all up in their faces today and yet again, I was the third wheel. And this time, it was completely my fault because I’m the one who invited the boys. So I have no room for any pity or sympathy because it’s my fault. I own it.

Now I’m over it. Swimming was nice—it’s been hot for the last few days here in Gilroy. Almost unbearable. But that’s what friends’ pools are for and that’s what slurpees at 7-11 are for :D I am thankful for so much—especially my friends’ pools. And slurpees. But right now, I’m thankful for my friend Kim. Even though she gets on my nerves. <3

I’m so tired of not having anything to do so I’m going to find something to do. Our Colorado trip is coming up. It’s going to be a sad one because, according to the doctors, this is going to be the last one. My grandpa has been sick a lot the last few years. In the last few months, we though he was all clear but it turns out everything that has happened in the last few years has been leading up to this:

Terminal brain cancer.

He’s going to die sometime in the next year, they say. My mom is taking it pretty hard and it makes me sad to see her so sad. Please pray for her <3

No comments:

Post a Comment

If you don't have something nice to say, please don't say anything at all.